I Never Saw Another Butterfly

Author(s): &

This devised play takes a retrospective look at the journey to the genocide through the eyes of the children of Theresienstadt. From the humiliations on the streets of German cities, the synagogue burnings and the Einsatzgruppen to the wide and varied forms of resistance that people found and took in response to the devastating events of this period. Jewish festivals and cultural values are embedded in the children’s story, which ends on their arrival at Auschwitz in 1944.
Format: One-act play
Cast Size: 1M/6F



Schools pack, theatre pack and teacher training guidelines available from Voices of the Holocaust, a specialist theatre company based in the U.K. dedicated to Holocaust theatre and education.
The book I Never Saw Another Butterfly by Hana Volavková is a collection of poems and art by Jewish children held in the Theresienstadt concentration camp.

Original or Prominent Production: 27 January 2013, Stantonbury Campus, Milton Keynes, UK.
Original Source Material: I Never Saw Another Butterfly: Children’s Drawings and Poems from Terezin Concentration Camp, 1942-1944 by Hana Volavkova.
Nationality of Author:
Original Language: English

I Never Saw Another Butterfly by Hana Volavkova is published by Schocken Books (Knopf Doubleday Publishing).

Production Rights Holder:

Voices of the Holocaust

Tags: , , ,